White Balance, Shutter Speed, & Depth of Field.

For this photo, I am practicing with depth of field. I used window lighting for a nice, soft look. I practiced a lot with  my aperture size and shutter speed - next time I will post the photos that lead me to this one. I erased my before photos to save room on my card, since RAW takes quite a bit of memory. However, I'm planning on doing a post on my steps to getting to my completion in the future some time. I enjoyed how my depth of field photos turned out.

For this photo, I am practicing with depth of field. I used window lighting for a nice, soft look. I practiced a lot with my aperture size and shutter speed – next time I will post the photos that lead me to this one. I erased my before photos to save room on my card, since RAW takes quite a bit of memory. However, I’m planning on doing a post on my steps to getting to my completion in the future some time. I enjoyed how my depth of field photos turned out.

Just like the photo before, I am practicing with depth of field. In my room, I have a floral chair that sits right under a vast window. When it's stormy outside, a really eerie but beautiful lighting comes through my sheer curtains. I had the great idea to have a book with pressed flowers in the end. I really love how the camera focused in on the flowers detail, and the background is blurred. I darkened the background in this photo as well as the last one.

Just like the photo before, I am practicing with depth of field. In my room, I have a floral chair that sits right under a vast window. When it’s stormy outside, a really eerie but beautiful lighting comes through my sheer curtains. I had the great idea to have a book with pressed flowers in the end. I really love how the camera focused in on the flowers detail, and the background is blurred. I darkened the background in this photo as well as the last one.

This is the screen shot of the different exposers that was taken. First to the left is Auto, second is daylight, third is shade, and fourth is cloudy. Bottom left is tungsten light and then last is fluorescent. As I opened each photo, I changed the white balance to match the Auto setting and then added burning and highlighting accordingly.

This is the screen shot of the different exposers that was taken. First to the left is Auto, second is daylight, third is shade, and fourth is cloudy. Bottom left is tungsten light and then last is fluorescent. As I opened each photo, I changed the white balance to match the Auto setting and then added burning and highlighting accordingly.

Here is my fixed White balance photos. The photo I chose of a door might be a bit plain, but I the photos are about changing the wb and I didn't want to distract from the main idea. I have learned how to change the white balance no matter what setting, and how to do it in RAW format.

Here is my fixed White balance photos. The photo I chose of a door might be a bit plain, but the photos are about changing the wb and I didn’t want to distract from the main idea. I have learned how to change the white balance no matter what setting, and how to do it in RAW format.

I got this idea from Riley in our class. She had pictures of her dad running around with his phone light on and it turned out very cool, so I decided I wanted to try it. In this I used my Kindle Fire as the light. It isn't exactly what I was going for, but if I try this again, I will try using a smaller light at a farther away distance, since I waved the light very close to the lens in this. I like playing around with the shutter speed and seeing what I can get. Sometimes I discover new things and really neat photos out of it too.

I got this idea from Riley in our class. One problem with this however, is that there isn’t anything in focus or something not moving. In this I used my Kindle Fire as the light. It isn’t exactly what I was going for, but if I try this again, I will try using a smaller light at a farther away distance, since I waved the light very close to the lens in this. Ill also set up a focused source. I like playing around with the shutter speed and seeing what I can get. Sometimes I discover new things and really neat photos out of it too.

With this photo I wanted to create a sense of the same person looking at one another. It worked out better than I thought it might. I know with shutter speed that its hard to get complete detail and if I'm wanting to create something like that, then I would have to use multiple pictures and mask out. But I wanted to see if I could do this with slow shutter speed. It turned out to have a more ghostly effect which is fine. I think it adds to the picture.

With this photo I wanted to create a sense of the same person looking at one another. It worked out better than I thought it might. I know with shutter speed that its hard to get complete detail and if I’m wanting to create something like that, then I would have to use multiple pictures and mask out. But I wanted to see if I could do this with slow shutter speed. It turned out to have a more ghostly effect which is fine. I think it adds to the picture.

Happily by chance, a car drove by exactly when I was ready to shoot. This is my first time trying hard to shoot in slow shutter. This isn't my favorite photo, but it still turned out. I'm learning at what speed to set my shutter at to get the effect that I'm searching for.

Happily by chance, a car drove by exactly when I was ready to shoot. This is my first time trying hard to shoot in slow shutter. This isn’t my favorite photo, but it still turned out. I’m learning at what speed to set my shutter at to get the effect that I’m searching for.

Shutter speed was my hardest challenge for this homework assignment. At the end of my street there is a creepy, street lamp that shines obnoxiously throughout the night. I decided I might as well take a trip there and experiment. My mother followed and I had her stand under the light and move to a different spot when I told her too. My cat joined in as well. My shutter speed was 1/25. I edited this photo by softening the yellow and burning the background.  I was going for the effect of having two of my mothers in the picture, (since the slow aperture would pick up her movement) but instead I got a eerie see-through version of her. I really liked how this turned out.

Shutter speed was my hardest challenge for this homework assignment. At the end of my street there is a creepy, street lamp that shines obnoxiously throughout the night. I decided I might as well take a trip there and experiment. My mother followed and I had her stand under the light and move to a different spot when I told her too. My cat joined in as well. My shutter speed was 25 seconds. I edited this photo by softening the yellow and burning the background. I was going for the effect of having two of my mother in the picture, (since the slow aperture would pick up her movement) but instead I got a eerie see-through version of her. I really liked how this turned out.

This didn't turn out the way I exactly wanted it too. I had a vision of my hand showing up clearly in multiple places on the paper, but I had to hold my hand in that one spot (where it shows up) for about 10-15 seconds for it to even show up barely. I also tried this idea with a huge whiteboard that I have, but the marker markings didn't even show. I'm still working on my correct shutter speed.

This didn’t turn out the way I exactly wanted it too. I had a vision of my hand showing up clearly in multiple places on the paper, but I had to hold my hand in that one spot (where it shows up) for about 10-15 seconds for it to even show up barely. I also tried this idea with a huge whiteboard that I have, but the marker markings didn’t even show. I’m still working on my correct shutter speed.

Leave a Reply

