A Life in a Post – Free Choice

As I was looking for inspiration, I saw this photo of a young child looking through a fogged window. I found it on Pinterest, so I followed the link. It lead to the website- banishedfromcamelot.tumblr.com. Im not positive that this site was the actual photographers website, or if it was just a follower. But if this direct link is followed, it leads to some photos that are not exactly school appropriate. However, this certain photo I was looking at (or the child) was my inspiration for this. In my above photo, these are my nephews and nieces intrigued on a online game. I really wanted to capture their faces and maybe show a story behind it. In the original photo, the exposer was way too dark, but I was able to retrieve the light again because I shot in RAW. Notice how the girl in the front is blurred a bit, and the next boy is the focused source. I would have liked for them to both be in focus, but the photo being this way adds a different look.

As I was looking for inspiration, I saw this photo of a young child looking through a fogged window. I found it on Pinterest, so I followed the link. It lead to the website- banishedfromcamelot.tumblr.com. Im not positive that this site was the actual photographers website, or if it was just a follower. But if this direct link is followed, it leads to some photos that are not exactly school appropriate. However, this certain photo I was looking at (of the child) was my inspiration for this. In my above photo, these are my nephews and nieces intrigued on a online game. I really wanted to capture their faces and maybe show a story behind it. In the original photo, the exposer was way too dark, but I was able to retrieve the light again because I shot in RAW. I would have posted the before photo, but it was too dark to even see anything. Notice how the girl in the front is blurred a bit, and the next boy is the focused source. I would have liked for them to both be in focus, but the photo being this way adds a different look.

Just as the above photo, my inspiration comes from banishedfromcamelot.tumblr.com.  This is my nephew Tanner. I wanted to capture his shyness, since he is very to himself and distant at times. I really like how he is hiding half his face, but the other half is still visible. It shows his gentle smile but displays his shy side as well. In my living room there is many large windows, and I wanted to have natural lighting. I used window lighting for the photo before as well.

Just as the above photo, my inspiration comes from banishedfromcamelot.tumblr.com.
This is my nephew Tanner. I wanted to capture his shyness, since he is very to himself and distant at times. I really like how he is hiding half his face, but the other half is still visible. It shows his gentle smile but displays his shy side as well. In my living room there is many large windows, and I wanted to have natural lighting. I used window lighting for the photo before as well.

As fall begins, so does the rain.  My car has a sunroof and when I was about to leave one day, I pulled back the covering and noticed perfect rain droplets. I loved how this turned out. In all of my photos I try to create a feeling. I want the viewer to look at the photo and receive a certain feeling off of it. Like comfort, home, love, peace, etc. Personally, I get a feeling of cozy, rainy days from this photo.

As fall begins, so does the rain.
My car has a sunroof and when I was about to leave one day, I pulled back the covering and noticed perfect rain droplets. I loved how this turned out. In all of my photos I try to create a feeling. I want the viewer to look at the photo and receive a certain feeling off of it. Like comfort, home, love, peace, etc. Personally, I get a feeling of cozy, rainy days from this photo.

My family has a very large garden that we tend to every year and we were very surprised with the outcome of squashes we got. This photo was taken right under a window, which is right where I love to photograph the most. Through taking photography, Iv'e learned more of what kind of photos I like to take and what I want to show through them. Simple but meaning photos are what I go after. It took me until this year to find this out, but better later than never. I really love this photo; it shows the heart of fall.

My family has a very large garden that we tend to every year and we were very surprised with the outcome of squashes we got. This photo was taken right under a window, which is right where I love to photograph the most. Through taking photography, Iv’e learned more of what kind of photos I like to take and what I want to show through them. Simple but meaningful photos are what I go after. It took me until this year to find this out, but better later than never. I really love this photo; it shows the heart of fall.

More of the same, but a different take on it. In the above photo I did a straight up shot with the light coming from the side. In this photo however, I turned my camera so the light was hitting the squash straight on. I like the lightness of the lighting when the light is coming right at the object. My mother is slightly shown in the back ground at the sink. This creates sort of a country feel. I didn't mean to have part of my mother in the shot, but when I looked back on it, I grew fond of it.

More of the same, but a different take on it. In the above photo I did a straight up shot with the light coming from the side. In this photo however, I turned my camera so the light was hitting the squash straight on. I like the lightness of the lighting when the light is coming right at the object. My mother is slightly shown in the back ground at the sink. This creates sort of a country feel. I didn’t mean to have part of my mother in the shot, but when I looked back on it, I grew fond of it.

In this whole post Iv'e been showing photos into my life, in a way.  Through these photos is what goes on in a regular day of mine. One of my favorite things to do in this whole wide world is to wake up early on a bright saturday morning, cozy myself up with wool socks and a blanket and go into the kitchen to make a strawberry smoothie. This photo might not mean anything to anyone else. But too me, its a wonderful memory. I look at it and it brings me home, back to that certain morning and the feeling of peace I had then. To me this photo captured happiness.

In this whole post Iv’e been showing photos into my life, in a way. Through these photos is what goes on in a regular day of mine. One of my favorite things to do in this whole wide world is to wake up early on a bright saturday morning, cozy myself up with wool socks and a blanket and go into the kitchen to make a strawberry smoothie. This photo might not mean anything to anyone else. But too me, its a wonderful memory. I look at it and it brings me home, back to that certain morning and the feeling of peace I had then. To me this photo captured happiness.

In the seconds of waking up early to a beautiful day, the air feels fresh and cold. The room still has a gray overcast, covering it. In this seconds, the darkness is being dispersed slowly by mornings rays. I turned this photo black and white to capture this feeling of breaking into light but not quite there yet.

In the seconds of waking up early to a beautiful day, the air feels fresh and cold. The room still has a gray overcast, covering it. In this seconds, the darkness is being dispersed slowly by mornings rays. I turned this photo black and white to capture this feeling of breaking into light but not quite there yet.

ISO 100       1/100 Iv'e been continually playing with my ISO and shutter speed, trying to get exposer right and not blown out. These photos are very simple but the main idea is about correcting the exposer. This is my final product after playing around with it for a while (steps up to it are below), and there are still things I could do to make this photo even better. But the main idea is justified.

ISO 100 1/100
Iv’e been continually playing with my ISO and shutter speed, trying to get exposer right and not blown out. These photos are very simple but the main idea is about correcting the exposer. This is my final product after playing around with it for a while (steps up to it are below), and there are still things I could do to make this photo even better. But the main idea is justified.

ISO 100           1/60 Still a bit exposed- raised my shutter speed to let in less light.

ISO 100 1/60
Still a bit exposed- raised my shutter speed to let in less light.

ISO 100              1/40 Almost there but not yet. raise my shutter speed. ISO is already as low as possible. Aperture at 14

ISO 100 1/40
Almost there but not yet – raised my shutter speed. ISO is already as low as possible. Aperture at 14

ISO 400          1/40 This was my first attempt. It doesn't look good at all. So I lowered the ISO to very low in the next attempt. Through these photos I've gained a better understanding of shutter speed, ISO, and aperture size.

ISO 400 1/40
This was my first attempt. It doesn’t look good at all. So I lowered the ISO to very low in the next attempt. Through these photos I’ve gained a better understanding of shutter speed, ISO, and aperture size.

2 responses to “A Life in a Post – Free Choice

  1. THIS is a quality post. Very nice. I love the last part showing that you are getting to know your camera better, better understand the settings, and what it does to images. Including the exposure settings as well, very nice.
    Including the link to inspiration as well and talking about it. VERY well done (and I am not talking about cooking steaks).
    The sock photo really stands out- great strip of light in it, nice image. Seeing details and capturing it well.

Leave a Reply

