Themes

Unique This is one of my favorite photos I have shot for a while now. I didn't know exactly what category to put this in at first. I shot this for sorrow, but.. that wasn't the sort of feeling I got when looking back on it. I was going for more of a thoughtful, unique look.  I used my self timer again (which is slowly becoming a main theme in this post), but the set up of this took some prep work. I spread papers, magazines, and some envelopes over the seen, which might be hard to see since I had to crop some out. - My foot was cut off at the end (which looked silly) so I cropped to mid thigh to help with it. I meant for this photo to have a story behind it. I grabbed my other camera for another prop that I thought would add to the message (which can be seen in my left hand). What time of message or story? Up to you. I was merely painting a picture  for you to interpret.  I turned this photo back & white to help the viewer not get distracted by the vibrant colors that were in this before. I think the color change enhanced the photo.

Unique
This is one of my favorite photos I have shot for a while now. I didn’t know exactly what category to put this in at first. I shot this for sorrow, but.. that wasn’t the sort of feeling I got when looking back on it. I was going for more of a thoughtful, unique look.
I used my self timer again (which is slowly becoming a main theme in this post), but the set up of this took some prep work. I spread papers, magazines, and some envelopes over the seen, which might be hard to see since I had to crop some out. – My foot was cut off at the end (which looked silly) so I cropped to mid thigh to help with it. I meant for this photo to have a story behind it. I grabbed my other camera for another prop that I thought would add to the message (which can be seen in my left hand). What time of message or story? Up to you. I was merely painting a picture for you to interpret.
I turned this photo back & white to help the viewer not get distracted by the vibrant colors that were in this before. I think the color change enhanced the photo.

Emotional On my Pinterest account I have a whole board dedicated to photography. For this photo I was inspired by a photo called "Rustic meets vintage" by Serena Variabile. For the theme emotional, this inspired me to do a love letter feel. Again for this photo I used my self timer. I sat in a chair while angling my camera on my tripod down on just my hands in my lap. It took a couple of tries to get my hands in the right position I wanted, since using my self timer, I could only try my best to angle it right and then shoot, check, and change the position if I needed to. The feeling I was going for this was a reminiscing time. The thought of love and the memories that have been forgotten. - This is the theme I was trying to shoot for. I used window lightening to create a very soft feel, but a darkish past behind it. It depends on how the viewer sees it too.

Emotional
On my Pinterest account I have a whole board dedicated to photography. For this photo I was inspired by a photo called “Rustic meets vintage” by Serena Variabile. For the theme emotional, this inspired me to do a love letter feel. Again for this photo I used my self timer. I sat in a chair while angling my camera on my tripod down on just my hands in my lap. It took a couple of tries to get my hands in the right position I wanted, since using my self timer, I could only try my best to angle it right and then shoot, check, and change the position if I needed to.
The feeling I was going for this was a reminiscing time. The thought of love and the memories that have been forgotten. – This is the theme I was trying to shoot for. I used window lightening to create a very soft feel, but a darkish past behind it. It depends on how the viewer sees it too.

Care I'm not an expert on what looks good or not. I'm not sure if looks good to the public or not.. But I like it. It might be too dark for someone's taste but I like the silhouette feel. This is what I was aiming for anyways.  These are my lovely parents that agreed to help me with a photo shoot. I positioned them in front of sheer curtains to create a silhouette, like a said above. I've learned that if a picture is taken towards light then shadows occur on the persons' face. If the photo is taken with the light coming from the back, then sometimes the picture is blown out and over exposed. Because of this knowledge and me wanting to create a silhouette, I used it to my advantage. I like the passion behind this photo. Thats probably my favorite feature.

Care
I’m not an expert on what looks good or not. I’m not sure if looks good to the public or not.. But I like it. It might be too dark for someone’s taste but I like the silhouette feel. This is what I was aiming for anyways.
These are my lovely parents that agreed to help me with a photo shoot. I positioned them in front of sheer curtains to create a silhouette, like a said above. I’ve learned that if a picture is taken towards light then shadows occur on the persons’ face. If the photo is taken with the light coming from the back, then sometimes the picture is blown out and over exposed. Because of this knowledge and me wanting to create a silhouette, I used it to my advantage. I like the passion behind this photo. Thats probably my favorite feature.

Happiness I interpreted happiness quite differently than normal. This photo was shot at a different perspective and this was exactly what I was going for. For me, happiness is reading. I love getting deeply lost in the story and adventures of a good book. This is pure bliss to me.  In this picture I used my self-timer. I don't like over editing my photos; I'd rather go for as natural as possible. The only things I did for this photo were raising the exposer, highlighting the whites, sharpening slightly (while softening the digital noise), and in the original photo my tripod that I was using to angle down on me, was slightly in the shot. I cropped in but still had one tripod leg next to my right arm. I used the cloning stamp too to copy the pattern of the carpet next to it and mask it out. My first attempt at this turned out horribly, but then I closed out and restarted. I feel like this came out well and no one would have expected a thing. I know it isn't perfect, but trying my hardest, this is what I came to. I enjoy this photo very much and to me, it expresses happiness.

Happiness
I interpreted happiness quite differently than normal. This photo was shot at a different perspective and this was exactly what I was going for. For me, happiness is reading. I love getting deeply lost in the story and adventures of a good book. This is pure bliss to me.
In this picture I used my self-timer. I don’t like over editing my photos; I’d rather go for as natural as possible. The only things I did for this photo were raising the exposer, highlighting the whites, sharpening slightly (while softening the digital noise), and in the original photo my tripod that I was using to angle down on me, was slightly in the shot. I cropped in but still had one tripod leg next to my right arm. I used the cloning stamp to copy the pattern of the carpet next to it and mask it out. My first attempt at this turned out horribly, but then I closed out and restarted. I feel like this came out well and no one would have expected a thing. I know it isn’t perfect, but trying my hardest, this is what I came to. I enjoy this photo very much and to me, it expresses happiness.

Sorrow This is the changed product of my before photo. Black & white photos add to the theme of sorrow in a really neat way. First looking at this photo, you can't tell what is in it exactly. That adds to the mystery in a way and can increase the sorrow feeling. I used natural lighting for this and darkened the background. I wanted to accentuate the detail of the umbrella and the water.

Sorrow
This is the changed product of my before photo. Black & white photos add to the theme of sorrow in a really neat way. First looking at this photo, you can’t tell what is in it exactly. That adds to the mystery in a way and can increase the sorrow feeling. I used natural lighting for this and darkened the background. I wanted to accentuate the detail of the umbrella and the water.

Sorrow Beginning This theme was and always was the hardest for me to interpret, and usually i'm at a lose for what to shoot. I come up with some ideas, but they are have more of a happy feel. So this above photo isn't sad particularly, but has a rainy, soft feel. It was a stormy, melancholy day when I laid this umbrella out in the rain. I like the detail of the material and the droplets. In the above photo I switched it to black & white with the help of my friend, Keely. I enjoy that version better because the black and white adds to the feeling of sorrow.

Sorrow Beginning
This theme was and always was the hardest for me to interpret, and usually i’m at a lose for what to shoot. I come up with some ideas, but they are have more of a happy feel. So this above photo isn’t sad particularly, but has a rainy, soft feel.
It was a stormy, melancholy day when I laid this umbrella out in the rain. I like the detail of the material and the droplets. In the above photo I switched it to black & white with the help of my friend, Keely. I enjoy that version better because the black and white adds to the feeling of sorrow.

2 responses to “Themes

  1. Be sure to include links to inspiration and talk about them.
    Great post otherwise, very strong images. First image fantastic use of window light, a nice soft, serene yet at the same time mysterious feel to the image. There could be a whole book written around this image.
    Obvious that you are seeing light well, looking good.

Leave a Reply

