Film Noir Inspiration

This assignment was probably the most enjoyable of all so far. It was harder work however, but was a great experience.  This past weekend I stayed the night at my cousin, Elisabeth's. See graciously accept to help me with my assignment. I had her wear a black dress with black heels to create a better feeling of film noir. She lives downtown so the environment was perfect to shoot in. Outside her house, she has a garden bench that was a perfect scene. I didn't have to instruct her much on posing; she was a natural. I used my dad's flood light for the source of lightening, and it worked great. I liked how this photo turned out.

This assignment was probably the most enjoyable of all so far. It was harder work however, but was a great experience.
This past weekend I stayed the night at my cousin, Elisabeth’s. She graciously accept to help me with my assignment. I had her wear a black dress with black heels to create a better feeling of film noir. She lives downtown so the environment was perfect to shoot in. Outside her house, she has a garden bench that was a perfect scene. I didn’t have to instruct her much on posing; she was a natural. I used my dad’s flood light for the source of lightening, and it worked great. I liked how this photo turned out.

This was the second pose we tried, and I love this one a tad bit more than the above photo.  Iv'e always had trouble with turning photos black & white because they always turn out to have a blue-ish tint to them. I was therefore, very nervous for this assignment, thinking that the black & white was going to screw me up big time. But with help and my own experimenting, I found a way to rid my photos of any discolorations.

This was the second pose we tried, and I love this one a tad bit more than the above photo.
Iv’e always had trouble with turning photos black & white because they always turn out to have a blue-ish tint to them. I was therefore, very nervous for this assignment, thinking that the black & white was going to screw me up big time. But with help and my own experimenting, I found a way to rid my photos of any discolorations.

This the last full body shot I did. I know that part of making these photos mysterious, is maybe showing only some of the scene, but I really wanted to try a few full body shots. I really liked how they turned out. At first I contrasted this photo too much, so I went back and softened it a bit. There is very harsh lighting in all these photos I did. But this is the style of film noir, that Iv'e learned.  I really like the shadows and the patterns the light makes in this. It is very unique and something that I purposely didn't try to do, but turned out good.

This the last full body shot I did. I know that part of making these photos mysterious, is maybe showing only some of the scene, but I really wanted to try a few full body shots. I really liked how they turned out. At first I contrasted this photo too much, so I went back and softened it a bit. There is very harsh lighting in all these photos I did. But this is the style of film noir, that Iv’e learned.
I really like the shadows and the patterns the light makes in this. It is very unique and something that I purposely didn’t try to do, but turned out good.

For this, I did a close up of the above photo, and I think the outcome is very neat and unique. I like the lighting on her arm leaning against the window seal. The way she positioned her legs add immensely to the feel and dimension. I darkened the floor boards a tad bit more and highlighted the brights.

For this, I did a close up of the above photo, and I think the outcome is very neat and unique. I like the lighting on her arm leaning against the window seal. The way she positioned her legs added immensely to the feel and dimension. I darkened the floor boards a tad bit more and highlighted the brights.

For this assignment we were allowed to show weapons, so I took advantage of this opportunity. I used the background of a dirty stove top to add more mystery. Through the black and white its hard to see the "blood" on the knife clearly, but you can tell there is texture on the blade. - This is where imagination and own perception can come in.  I darkened the edges of this photo quite a bit to center the focus right in the middle, on the main subject.  This post tells a story, can you read it?

For this assignment we were allowed to show weapons, so I took advantage of this opportunity. I used the background of a dirty stove top to add more mystery. Through the black and white its hard to see the “blood” on the knife clearly, but you can tell there is texture on the blade. – This is where imagination and own perception can come in.
I darkened the edges of this photo quite a bit to center the focus right in the middle, on the main subject.
This post tells a story, can you read it?

I used an idea I saw from looking at past students of this class, and one picture I saw was similar to this one. I wanted to try it out, and I enjoy the results. This is of my cousin again, and she laid on the cold sidewalk happily for me. I wanted to have an outside shoot of the crime scene, because it goes along with my earlier photos of Elisabeth on the bench. I took a shoe off to portray a story - What happened her? Was she rushing away and tripped.. or was she murdered and her mangled body left on the street?

I used an idea I saw from looking at past students of this class, and one picture I saw was similar to this one. I wanted to try it out, and I enjoy the results. This is of my cousin again, and she laid on the cold sidewalk happily for me. I wanted to have an outside shoot of the crime scene, because it goes along with my earlier photos of Elisabeth on the bench.
I took a shoe off to portray a story – What happened her? Was she rushing away and tripped.. or was she murdered and her mangled body left on the street?

This is the second shot I tried at my crime scene. Its the same position and objects, but just a different perspective. Sometimes this can change and enhance the photo immensely. I like the above photo more than this one, but this one still adds to the story line. I wish I would have moved my flood light to a different place to just see if it would have made it better at all. I could have experimented with that more. But over all I feel like a did a good job trying to interpret this project. I had a great time doing it.

This is the second shot I tried at my crime scene. Its the same position and objects, but just a different perspective. Sometimes this can change and enhance the photo immensely. I like the above photo more than this one, but this one still adds to the story line. I wish I would have moved my flood light to a different place to just see if it would have made it better at all. I could have experimented with that more. But over all I feel like a did a good job trying to interpret this project. I had a great time doing it.

One response to “Film Noir Inspiration

  1. Nicely done. Can see that you put thought and effort into these and really took into heart the film noir. Trying different things, different angles, good strong lights.
    The last two, I really like. They really have the sense of mystery in them, bit of crime in it. I like it.
    Be sure to include links to inspiration and talk about it.

Leave a Reply

