LightBox – Lets do this.

The journey begins here!  I loved making my lightbox and I loved the outcome.  The link I followed - http://www.wikihow.com/Create-an-Inexpensive-Photography-Lightbox   These instructions were provided by Mr. Twitchell  and it worked great! Some of the instructions were a bit confusing, but with my nifty imagination handy, I figured somethings out for myself. So above are my beginning supplies. Includes a medium size box, two desk lamps, scissors, a straight-edge cutter, white fabric, white background paper, and strapping tape. Here we go!

The journey begins here!
I loved making my lightbox and I loved the outcome.
The link I followed – http://www.wikihow.com/Create-an-Inexpensive-Photography-Lightbox
These instructions were provided by Mr. Twitchell and it worked great! Some of the instructions were a bit confusing, but with my nifty imagination handy, I figured somethings out for myself. So above are my beginning supplies. Includes a medium size box, two desk lamps, scissors, a straight-edge cutter, white fabric, white background paper, and strapping tape. Here we go!

Open box - check.

Open box – check.

Second step - I measured and marked the sides, of where I wanted to cut out. I measured about an inch from the edge of the box, and placed my line accordingly.

Second step – I measured and marked the sides, of where I wanted to cut out. I measured about an inch from the edge of the box, and placed my line accordingly.

First time using this kind of knife...A bit frightened but whats the worse that can happen? Actually.. quite a few things. No matter though. Here we go!

First time using this kind of knife…A bit frightened but whats the worse that can happen? Actually.. quite a few things. No matter though. Here we go!

Measured both sides - time to cut

Measured both sides – time to cut

So far, so good!

So far, so good!

One side completed!

One side completed!

Two sides out!

Two sides out!

Cut off the flaps. - Box looking pretty empty right now.

Cut off the flaps. – Box looking pretty empty right now.

Heres my beautiful white fabric that I will be using to defuse the harsh lighting. I will tape it onto the sides of the box that I had just cut out.

Heres my beautiful white fabric that I will be using to defuse the harsh lighting. I will tape it onto the sides of the box that I had just cut out.

Here I'm cutting my fabric. I am probably the worlds worst measurer. I can't measure sadly, so I use guides, such as this. This was the leftover cut out of the side of the box so I used this to help my along. The cutting doesn't have to be perfect - just enough to be useful. I cut two of these pieces for two sides of my box.

Here I’m cutting my fabric. I am probably the worlds worst measurer. I can’t measure sadly, so I use guides, such as this. This was the leftover cut out of the side of the box so I used this to help me along. The cutting doesn’t have to be perfect – just enough to be useful. I cut two of these pieces for two sides of my box.

This process wasn't as easy as it looks. I needed to pull the fabric somewhat tight while trying to tape it with one hand. But I was able to accomplish it after trial and error. Next the background!

This process wasn’t as easy as it looks. I needed to pull the fabric somewhat tight while trying to tape it with one hand. But I was able to accomplish it after trial and error. Next the background!

Here is the finished product! All lit up like a Christmas tree. Time to start photographing.

Here is the finished product! All lit up like a Christmas tree. Time to start photographing.

Here are the glasses before the wonderful box. There is a big difference, and its great the amount of change the lightbox had.

Here are the glasses before the wonderful box. There is a big difference, and its great the amount of change the lightbox had.

Here is my first shot. I really  loved the lighting of this box  the second I took the shot. I am a BIG fan of a good, solid, white background.

Here is my first shot. I really loved the lighting of this box the second I took the shot. I am a BIG fan of a good, solid, white background.

In English class, we are studying the book "To Kill a MockingBird". I thought that this angle was interesting. I set the book up-right (or standing) and I had to straighten the picture in PhotoShop, because it was slightly slanted.  The lighting in this photo is crisp and white which is very flattering to the eye. The original photo had a tad touch of yellow which I desaturated.

In English class, we are studying the book “To Kill a MockingBird”. I thought that this angle was interesting. I set the book up-right (or standing) and I had to straighten the picture in PhotoShop, because it was slightly slanted.
The lighting in this photo is crisp and white which is very flattering to the eye. The original photo had a tad touch of yellow which I desaturated.

My dad has another Cannon that I used for the prop. I contracted the blacks to stand out more and brightened the highlights.

My dad has another Cannon that I used for the prop. I contracted the blacks to stand out more and brightened the highlights.

Here is another view at a different angle. I like how focused this picture and how I was able to make it  really clear, because sometimes this is a challenge for me.

Here is another view at a different angle. I like how focused this picture and how I was able to make it really clear, because sometimes this is a challenge for me.

Since using a lightbox, my images where turning out to have a type of advertisement feel. Just for experimenting I grabbed some objects that could be a possible advertisement. These candles for example, worked out pretty good for this idea.

Since using a lightbox, my images where turning out to have a type of advertisement feel. Just for experimenting I grabbed some objects that could be a possible advertisement. These candles for example, worked out pretty good for this idea. The background for this photo, isn’t as white or bright as the others. I am not positive exactly why, but when I went to change and fix it, the super white background blew out the detail and sharpness of the candles. I figured they looked better this way.

Here is my other camera. I don't know why I took so many photos of cameras, but they still work for the lightbox project. My box was kinda small so I was l was limited in what I could use. I used things I found around my room.

Here is my other camera. I don’t know why I took so many photos of cameras, but they still work for the lightbox project. My box was kinda small so I was l was limited in what I could use. I used things I found around my room.
Over all, I enjoyed this project very much and I believe it was a great idea to make. This is the first time in this class of making a photographing tool while recording the process and I really liked doing it.

One response to “LightBox – Lets do this.

Leave a Reply

