Idioms

For this new project, I shot idioms – showing what idioms would actually mean if taken literally. Enjoy!

Rubbing Someone the Wrong Way This was my favorite idiom to shoot for this assignment. It turned out  better than I thought it would and I love it!  If this idiom was taken literally, this was my vision of how it would look.

Rubbing Someone the Wrong Way
This was my favorite idiom to shoot for this assignment. It turned out better than I thought it would and I love it!
If this idiom was taken literally, this was my vision of how it would look. Rubbing someone the wrong way means to get on a persons bad side and not making a good impression. I used my self timer on this one, and honestly, it only took about 3 shots to get it right, luckily. The hand and arm is credited to my sweet mother, who was very confused when I told her that I wanted her to rub my face for a picture. But she was a big help and it worked out perfect.

Get Your Ducks in a Row This idiom is not really to get your rubber duckies in a row obviously. It means to get the right facts and to get figured out.  For this photo I used my lightbox that I previously made, and I'm so glad I had it handy because it came in great use.

Get Your Ducks in a Row
This idiom is not really to get your rubber duckies in a row obviously. It means to get the right facts and to get figured out.
For this photo I used my lightbox that I previously made, and I’m so glad I had it handy because it came in great use. The link from my inspiration came from – http://www.dreamstime.com/free-photos-images/idiom.html and in the picture I got this idea from, was similar but it took a different perspective on the shot taken. I decided I wanted to try this idiom but I interpreted it for myself. I lined the ducks up and took a front shot. When editing this, I changed the setting to auto and raised the exposer. I raised the contrast quite a bit to sharped and have the shadows stand out more. I added a tad of blue to soften the yellow cast that was in it before. I burned around the shape of the ducks to make them stand out even more against the white. I really love how this turned out.

Read You like an Open Book For this I want to create a literally meaning of words on a person's skin. My initial idea is that I would take a photo of someone' s face and put words over that, but I thought it would be even more ironic if the hands were in the shape of a book with words written across it.  In this I have two pictures; the hands and the words (which were shot from an open book). I combined the words over the hands and then chose overlay from the effect options. This created a nice, overlapping. I used self-timer for this, in my home studio that I made which I will show in a separate post.

Read You like an Open Book
For this I want to create a literal meaning of words on a person’s skin. My initial idea is that I would take a photo of someone’ s face and put words over that, but I thought it would be even more ironic if the hands were in the shape of a book with words written across it.
In this I have two pictures; the hands and the words (which were shot from an open book). I combined the words over the hands and then chose overlay from the effect options. This created a nice, overlapping. I used self-timer for this, in my home studio that I made which I will show in a separate post.

Apple of my Eye THIS turned out way better than I thought was possible for me. This is two pictures in one. For the eye, I originally had my full face, but cropped in and sharpened. The background was a slight shade of pink, so I used the white eye dropper tool to make the it solid white. I contrasted the reds and deepened the darks in the eye. I used my own light box to shoot my apple in. I love how this turned out.

Apple of my Eye
THIS turned out way better than I thought was possible for me. This is two pictures in one. For the eye, I originally had my full face, but cropped in and sharpened. The background was a slight shade of pink, so I used the white eye dropper tool to make the it solid white. I contrasted the reds and deepened the darks in the eye. I used my own light box to shoot my apple in. I love how this turned out.

Bite Your Own Tongue This was my second try on this idiom and I actually like this one a bit more. Maybe its because of the real studio at the school I used, or if its just that I enjoy Keely's face a bit too much. This photo was over-exposed in the beginning but using the power of RAW, it was easily fixable.

Bite Your Own Tongue
This was my second try on this idiom and I actually like this one a bit more. Maybe its because of the real studio at the school I used, or if its just that I enjoy Keely’s face a bit too much.
This photo was over-exposed in the beginning but using the power of RAW, it was easily fixable.

Leave a Reply

