Christmas Photos

To begin let me just say, Christmas 2013 was fantastic. It was a wonderful “adiós!” to the year. Now in 2014 the world is changing at a faster rate then ever before. I’m feeling a vibe in the air that somehow, someway, this new year is going to blow us all away. Something is on the brink of breaking into brilliance. I’m very excited to live in this time. Yes, there are horrible events happening around the world, but there has to be sorrow to have happiness. Loveliness can still be found, along with joy and wonder. It’s the Pursuit of Happiness that we must all endure.

For these collection of photos, its sort of a big mess or random thoughts and ideas. Most of them have nothing to do with Christmas at all, but then again.. the spirit of this season can be found in the smiles of all, and in all the living things.

Here is the links for the inspiration for the below photos Here, Here, Here, and Here. These websites were the beginning of thoughts that I turned into ideas that turned into photos. My photos aren’t exact replicas of what my inspiration was, but some aspects of the photos I looked at helped me notice different details that I would other wise leave out.

Now before you accuse me of taking a cheesy selfie, I never usually take pictures of myself and post them. This photo was just too warm and fuzzy inside to ignore it though.  This above is Ben and me.. Ben is the happiest thing in my life at the moment, so I felt obligated to share it. He keeps me going and inspires me each and everyday to follow my dreams and become a better person than I was the day before.  Looking on the aspects of this photo now: I love the feel of the black and white. I made the darks fairly dramatic on purpose and brightened the whites. I sharpened the eyes (maybe a bit too much, but hey I love that tool).

Now before you accuse me of taking a cheesy selfie, I never usually take pictures of myself and post them. This photo was just too warm and fuzzy inside to ignore it though.
This above is Ben and me.. Ben is the happiest thing in my life at the moment, so I felt obligated to share it. He keeps me going and inspires me each and everyday to follow my dreams and become a better person than I was the day before.
Looking on the aspects of this photo now: I love the feel of the black and white. I made the darks fairly dramatic on purpose and brightened the whites. I sharpened the eyes (maybe a bit too much, but hey I love that tool). Its not too obvious in the smaller version of it however.

On our way to Sandpoint! I've always loved the views that appear on the way. I have a strange obsession to car photos, like this one. I just find them interesting and full of adventure and travel. I added a lot of contrast and depth to this. I was going towards a feeling of grayness and morning darkness, in a way.

On our way to Sandpoint! I’ve always loved the views that appear on the way. I have a strange obsession to car photos, like this one. I just find them interesting and full of adventure and travel. I added a lot of contrast and depth to this. I was going towards a feeling of grayness and morning darkness, in a way. I am still trying to get use to the watermark. Not sure if I like it that big.

DSCN0652

DSCN0664

DSCN0645

Now to have some fun. I like the above photos, but I decided I wanted to make them more interesting. For these photos I used THIS background. I found this idea through Pinterest, which doesn’t have a direct link to the photo. But the main focus on what my inspiration was, is found in my below photos. Lately WordPress, or maybe its my computer, hasn’t been letting my add descriptions to the bottom of the photos. I was able to on some, but others are having difficulties. So in this description I will do a short a little summery of what I did… I took a city landscape and used multiple blending options to add it in. The second one down has to be my favorite one. For it I slightly masked out the city scape to blend the photos together even better. Some of these creations I like more than others, and some didn’t turn out the way I would have hoped. But it was super fun and neat trying this concept.

DSCN0652

Fixerup

#3

#2

DSCN0653

So thats the finish to my great road adventure. There wasn’t too much to show because I wanted to enjoy the trip instead of being trapped behind a camera. It was a rare trip I was able to attend, so I wanted to be a part of it and create memories that way. These pictures stand as a reminder of those memories though. They aren’t spectacular in any shape or form, but they have preserved a memory.

Now these next few are random ones that I shot. There is a certain theme to some, and then others are just scattered about.

fire2

My teacher gave me the idea to be more creative with my photos and try new things, like the above photos. With this picture, I combined to photos that are relative to each other and put them side by side. I wish I could have gotten the photo to be larger. When I put the two pictures together, it shrunk the overall image size. I went back and increased it, but when I uploaded this photo again, the altercation I had done didn’t change anything.

IMG_1661

From the above photo, this is the separate photo from the right. I thought I would show the photos themselves closer up, since I actually like these photos and want to show them off. I was playing with my poor-man macro lens but the fire was too hot and well… deadly to get that close to.

IMG_1680

I got a certain idea from a friend to get a really cool blurred photo look. She taught me that if I put my lens on manual focus and found a light source and shot it, that because of the manual focus, the picture would be blurred. But this gives an…interesting look. It was just an experiment. But I think I will keep trying the concept.

IMG_1665

I enjoy this particular one, if I say so myself. I had the camera focus on the snowflakes on the candle holder and blur the flames behind. I really like how it looks.

For these next few, I tried something different. Take a look. On THIS website, there is one photo in particular that I went off of. It is the second picture down, the one that looks to have stardust falling. This was my original idea for this very below photo, but I couldn’t find a stamp or background that I liked enough or fit what I was going for. But I played around with the idea.

DSCN0641

This has two pictures on top of each other. The flame was the first and the weird sparkles/diamond things on top. I used the option to lighten it on top so they both blended together nicely. I played with different backgrounds for awhile and could not fine one that I absolutely loved, so I sorta just settled with this one. I added some neat star brush action to it as well. Can you tell?

DSCN0642

To me this looks like it should be the cover of a holiday greeting card. Im not saying its super good, but that I’m getting that vibe…I don’t quite know. I desaturated it a bit and softened the bright colors. I added snowflake stamps. This.. is quite different but for this post I was going for that.

DSCN0643

As I almost burned myself, I got pretty close and zooomed in. I’m diggin’ the detail and the power of the flame. I added star stamps, and again, can you tell? Its sorta hidden..hmmm. Fun right? Naw not really. They are just on the border of the flame. Again I was shooting for this great idea I had in my head, but sadly not everything turns out the way you want.

So that enough of flames, right? Yes I agree. Lets move on.

So this next section is a little…creepy. But don’t get the wrong idea. I don’t enjoy taking disturbing pictures, but somehow my photos just turn out that way and I don’t understand why.

Inspiration for hands HERE  HERE HERE. On these sites, there a bunch of creative ways to photograph hands. Now I admit that my photos aren’t close to how creative these are, but they have their own quirkiness. Take a gander!

DSCN0667

You could use this photo as a symbol for the reaching for better brighter things. It looks as if the hand is covered in darkness and it’s reaching out to touch light. I darkened the corners and more of the bottom half of the photo to get this effect. This is my own hand, with my right hand taking the photo.

DSCN0673

I took multiple shots while in this pose. This is more of the same, but at a different angle. I like them both the same, but I enjoy how part of the hand in this photo is hidden. It takes the viewer a second to see what they are looking at.

For these below photos, I did a few little things. First off, I know this is a bit creepy for a Christmas post, but the opportunity presented itself to take it and I went for it. This photo was actually a bit tricky to take; it was in a strange angle because of the shadows. I had to make it so the camera wasn’t showing as a shadow. But I figured out and got it alright. I contrasted a lot and centered the attention on the hand. I used a high resolution texture and used the options under the effects to blend.

DSCN0676
hand#2
My favorite aspect of this photo is the sharpness of the shadow.

My favorite aspect of this photo is the sharpness of the shadow. The sun was coming through my window perfectly and I wanted to show off how awesome these shadows were against the door. I thought it would be neat to have my hands in here, barely touching the wood. I desaturated this photo because of the sharp reds that were in the beginning shot. I did a sorta of boarder with my burning tool. I like how it turned out.

Below is a collection of miscellaneous. The second one down I shot with poor-man macro lens tutorial -http://photography.tutsplus.com/articles/a-poor-mans-guide-to-budget-macro-photography–photo-2857 on how to do that. I turned out a bit blurry, so I’m still working out the kinks of it. Enjoy the rest!
IMG_1671
IMG_1690
IMG_1703
scene

One response to “Christmas Photos

Leave a Reply

