Poor Man’s Macro – Free Choice

Links CLICK Here and Here. On these websites the photography is amazing. The macro is crisp and clean, something I was trying really hard to accomplish on my own. For those who don’t know, poor man macro is simply when you take the lens off your camera, turn it backwards, and hold it up to the camera. It takes practice at first, and I’m still working on getting it just right. The images never turn out completely clear; parts are blurry but some in focus. I like this look, a lot.

For example, take the image below. The left half blurs out while the right side with the dandelion stayed in focus. I love the soft light and colors.

IMG_0093

The next two are dandelions again, but in their pre-mature state. I got super excited once I opened this photo up in Photoshop. In the beginning, these photos were overexposed to the point where the photo was totally blown out. But I knew that the image was there somewhere. So I brought down the exposure in the RAW settings of Photoshop and I found it. Its amazing what you find when its zoomed in close.

IMG_0097

IMG_0098

The next series is close up pictures of grass. I had no idea or inclination that there is purple flower tips on the ends of grass. I got tons of different shots. One of my favorite aspects is the blurred green background. That’s one thing that macro is good of; creating mystical backgrounds.

Take a look at these!

IMG_0096

IMG_0100

IMG_0102

IMG_0112

IMG_0113

IMG_0114

IMG_0117

IMG_0118

IMG_0120

IMG_0121

Next series; my dirty side. No, not that dirty side, but me walking in dirt, literally. Surprisingly, these photos were of plain soil, not gravely dirt. Like I said before, its amazing what you find when you get close up.

IMG_0089

IMG_0086

(Side Bar) The photo below isn’t shot with macro, but I liked the burned coal look.

IMG_0082

Here is zoomed in soil, so take a look! You won’t get half as dirty as I did.

IMG_0160

IMG_0156

Below photos; aspens. You can tell it’s an aspen by the way it is.

I tried to get some cool sap shots. The bark is broken up and looks like pieces that all fit together.

IMG_0143

IMG_0141

IMG_0137

Next photos below are some of my favorite photos I took. I have a rose bush in the backyard and I had an idea of getting close up shots of the thorns. I love how again half of the photo is blurred while some in focus. It draws the eyes in with interest.

IMG_0162

IMG_0164

IMG_0166

IMG_0168

Here are more bark pictures of the trunk cracking. It took me a few shots to get them in focus. I love the design and natural art of nature.

IMG_0173

IMG_0170

Lilac! My favorite flower and smell. Beautiful. These didn’t turn out as clear as I’d hope, but I thought i would post them anyways to show what I tried.

IMG_0179

IMG_0181

IMG_0182

IMG_0183

Below is another collection of what I took for fun. It isn’t with macro, but I thought they were interesting shots. I tried different things to get unique angles.

IMG_0122

IMG_0126

IMG_0127

IMG_0125

IMG_0134

Next I took a trip to my father’s shop out in the back. He has so much stuff back here that I am surprised it all fits in one place. I found some weird looking poles that I thought were interesting. I took some shots to see what I could do.

I tried to get different angles of close-up and far back. I tried to create dimension

IMG_0058

IMG_0059

IMG_0061

IMG_0062

 

One response to “Poor Man’s Macro – Free Choice

  1. Excellent post. Try either adding some blue to the images that have all the green in it, OR desaturate the yellow some. Make the green look greener.
    Strong post, lots of great images.

Leave a Reply

